• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

three phase tools

At an auction, I saw a new.very little used powermatic lathe that was three phase. I am not an electrician so I know nothing of this type of machine workings. Will that work in a regular shop with 220 capabilities? Why would I bid on it? I told you I know nothing of three phase so don't laugh.

my mistake

I see that powermatic makes the 3 phase also in that lathe for 3 phase systems. It must have been more industrial. I see that it won't work for me. Sorry for my stupidity. Gary

Gary,

If the price-is-right on the lathe, you can get a phase converter to run it on your home system. A phase converter for that lathe (1-3hp) should not cost you more than $300, and may be much less if you shop around.

Don't give up so easy.;)

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert
Most homes don't have access to 3 phase power so you would need some sort of converter. there are plans on the web for using an additional motor to create the 3 leg for 3 phase power. My neighbor does that with his metal working machines.
As Mark said you can buy Variable Frequency Drives that will convert single phase into 3 phase and give you variable speed as well. These are nice but you would need someone who really knows these things to know which one to buy to match your motor and set up all the parameters.