• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

drum sander

I am just getting into segmented turn and am in need of a drum sander. Ouch they are expensive. I have found some ideas to build one but I have not been able to find anyone who sells a sanding drum 12 - 16 inches. does anyone have any suggestions where I could find one

Website
www.docwks.com
Have you thought about setting one up on your Lathe? There are many plans available and a cheap way to find out if you really want to stick with segmented turning.

$.02 have you though about using(making one for lathe) disk sander. I use MDF with glued on strips from sanding rolls to sand one side flat. Then glue to stack of rings, then smooth/turn other side when glue dried. Repeat as required. I have made two such disk, one with rough paper, other with finer grit. Works for me.

Bob

Shop Made Drum Sander

I am just getting into segmented turn and am in need of a drum sander. Ouch they are expensive. I have found some ideas to build one but I have not been able to find anyone who sells a sanding drum 12 - 16 inches. does anyone have any suggestions where I could find one