• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

A hollowing question

Ballard (Seattle) WA and Volcano, Hawaii....on top
I am a newbie. Working on a first, rather overly ambitious bowl, but having fun. The bowl is a hollow form. Opening about 1.5inches. Have the exterior done, have the interior hollowed without blowing up yet. But....although most of the interior has a decent surface to it, one area where there is a transition from sap wood to heart wood has alot of grain tearing. Only one area however. The opposite transition area is fine. And, I can't seem to fix that.

I used an Ellsworth gouge to rough out the interior. No problems. All smooth at that time. I have tried using a Crown swan neck Beaver Tool for the remaining hollowing, but that is where I started seeing the tearing. I tried a round edged scraper, quite sharp, but am still tearing in that one spot. I ngdid find a posting here that describes some positioning for using a scraper inside a bowl. Next time I am on the lathe I will check my scaper use against that and see what happens.

Any thoughts?