• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

help making grinding station

OK, I've never made anything in my life. so I have no construction background. I did pick up a Kreg master jig before my local woodcraft went out of business. I also have some 2' x 4' 3/4" birch ply I got from the borgs. to make it. I want to see if I can make it so my woodcraft 8" grinder used for my turning tools & the Tormek t-7 can go back to back. so all I need to do is spin it around to use one or the other. I am also 5' 11" tall I Have 2 of these wheels 3" caster wheels I need to pick up 2 swiveling locking casters. from somewhere. I was just going to pick up some drawer slides from the borg. I'm not planning on putting heavy stuff in there just light stuff.

My questions are.

1. How tall to make the case with the wheels I got & also for my height also to be able to use the Tormek & woodcraft 8" grinder comfortably.

2. what is the best way to add a couple of drawers.

3. What type of screws to get for the kreg using the 3/4" ply course or fine TPI. Also where to get them at as decent price.

Any other info will be greatly appreciated especially if I haven't asked the question.

I am 5' 8". I would say you want your cabinet height between 30" and 32". For plywood you will want to us the course thread Kreg screws. You can find Kreg screws at Lowe's, Sears and Home Depot but I have found McFeely's has the best prices.