• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Dieing to dye this bowl

I’m posting this on several forums, so please, if you have some advice don’t ignore my plea just because you’ve seen it elsewhere. Thanks in advance.

I have a Cherry bowl with a wavy rim and I want to dye the top with a blue dye. This will be my first attempt at using dyes, so I have zero experience to draw from. I would like to have some experienced folks give me advice on a couple of things. First, which type of dye (not necessarily brand) will work best with Cherry. I want a fairly deep blue color. I plan on using a pie plate to put the dye in and then dropping the bowl into for ____ minutes. How does that sound?

Any other advice is also appreciated.

wavy rim??

I'm not sure what you mean by wavy rim, and if it is wavy how can you dip it an follow the contour of the rim? Most dyes or ink will bleed giving a fuzzy edge. There are ways to prevent or reduce this but will be difficult if it's dipped. A photo of the piece would help as well as the measurements.

I’m posting this on several forums, so please, if you have some advice don’t ignore my plea just because you’ve seen it elsewhere. Thanks in advance.