• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Life span of diamond hone?

odie

TOTW Team
Panning for Montana gold, with Betsy, the mule!
Anyone ever wear one of these out?

I've been using diamond hones for knife blades for 20+ years, and do not see that they wear out......but, of course, these don't see the kind of heavy use they see at my lathe.

For gouge, and skew honing, I've been using flat diamond hones for several years, and all are working without any indication of wear.

Just wondering what the experiences of others might be with them.

Since we are talking about a diamond surface used to touch up the edge of a HSS tool.......I suspect the life expectancy of these hand held flat diamond hones may be a very long time.......or, even a lifetime! :D If the micro diamonds lose their bond and fall off, I can see the hones no longer functioning......but, if they stay in place, they ought to be almost "forever", I would think.

BTW, this reminds me..........I recently found a thickly dust covered Norton BS6 Arkansas stone in my "extinct" stuff that hasn't seen use in years. I don't believe I've used this stone in nearly 20 years. Was also wondering if anyone is using this kind of stone to sharpen their lathe tools.....? I did use it for a few years, back in the 80's, but went on to other methods. One thing I recall is the use with oil......not good if it gets on your wood.......:eek: