• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Beginner & Segmented bowls

I’m new to this form, and woodturning ( don’t even have a lathe but thinking about the Oneway 1224) Saw a demonstration on segmented bowl construction and turning at a Coulee Region Woodturners meeting last month. It was an outstanding demo IMO and they seem to have a great group of members. I am planning on attending their next monthly meeting and joining at that time, but in the mean time would like to ask for suggestions about books or videos that would let me know what to expect in the way of tools needed, and procedures for constructing and turning segmented bowls. I purchased “Woodturning with Ray Allen†by Dale Nish this weekend which I am reading now. What grand craftsmanship, and I particularly love his southwestern Indian designs. Now it’s a great book but I’m one of those that likes to learn from more than one source since it helps me to understand the processes quicker.

If I get into turning I believe that segmented bowls is the place I want to go and with bowls that would be no more than approx. 8 inches in diameter. Do I have the talent for it? I don’t have a clue. :confused: I realize that I will need to learn basic lathe techniques before trying to turn segmented bowls. I could at least begin to construct segmented rings in my shop to practice the precision required in cutting and fitting segment blocks.