• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

If you wanted to teach...

I have been turning for the past six years, and have developed some skill at it. In addition I have demonstrated turning for two clubs, and I'm currently teaching one student.

However I find that some of my skills are lacking, and I have some difficulty imparting some techniques to my student because of this.

If you wanted to teach and demonstrate woodturning, but found some of your skills needed improvement, what school in the southeast (I'm in Georgia and can't afford to travel very far) would you attend, whose and what weeklong class?

What other advice would you give me to learn to teach woodturning?

Teaching (be it woodturning or anything else)

Having been an educator in a former life maybe I can offer some input. Here is my outline for a successful lesson plan (or demo):

1. Introduction of Topic
2. Icebreaker (this can be a joke or a woodturning story or about anything, but you want something that basically relieves tension and shows you are human).
3. Review what you went over last lesson, session, etc.