• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

turning end grain for a newbie

Hi, I'm very new to woodturning (except 25 years ago in the 7th grade) and I'm having a frustrating time working in hard woods. I made a crude bowl out of poplar and didn't lose any fingers so I thought I'd try purpleheart. My aim is to make a shallow dish, 9" in dia. The blank is 1.5" and roughly round from a trip thru the bandsaw.
My roughing gouge is sharp (not too sharp) and I'm having a heck of a time rounding the blank. When I get to the end-grain, it gets torn up from the gouge. I tried a very small gouge and a scraper but can't make any headway.
I realize a hard wood like purpleheart isn't the best for a beginner but I'd like to try anyway.
Any advice is welcome. Thanks.
Dave

Hi Dave.

I'd strongly recommend hooking up with the nearest woodturning club. They're popping up all over the place like mushrooms and there should be one in shouting distance. Don't even wait for the next scheduled meeting. Give a call to a board member and ask about getting some mentoring.