• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

TeachingWoodturning

I am a High School Shop Teacher and I am going to do a presentation at the Illinois Technology Education Association conference. Does anyone have anything that they may want to pass on regarding the value of woodturning in schools? I have found that my students that may have been ignoring/not participating in the class and lessons suddenly became very active when i introduced woodturning. I went from one woodlathe to eight with students waiting in line for their turn. I feel that this alone warrants more attention from teachers who may not use this in the class room. Anything that gets s kid excited is worth teaching.........

Lyndal

Good for you