• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

What do you do when a piece is damaged at a gallery??

So I'm relatively new to galleries--I've only been selling in them for a little over a year. I've had good luck so far with things, pretty good sales, some owners are picky, but all in all they seem to like and appreciate my work. I had a call the other day from one gallery owner telling me that a piece had been damaged. I brought them a large bark edged burl bowl, roughly 15x10". I havent seen it yet, but apparently someone tried to pick it up by the bark. I used a liberal amount of CA glue, and it was all quite solid----I checked very carefully before dropping it off. The owner said it was a very clean break, and thinks it can be fixed, but expressed concern about her staff watching customers, etc.