• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

STEBCENTER questions...

I'm a noob to the creative world of woodturning. I've read books, watched
videos and am currently enrolled in an 8 evening turning course at a local
school. I recently purchased and have used a stebcenter after learning how
very forgiving it is when you get a catch while learning to shear with a skew
chisel. It works very well!

Woodcraft is closing out a revolving stebcenter at about 1/2 price.
Essentially it looks like a live center for the tail stock with a spring
loaded center point and the fine pitched stebcenter drive teeth. I read
somewhere that a revolving stebcenter is useful for off-center turnings. I'll
be trying my hand soon at turning a pad foot on a cabriole leg, but I'm not
sure yet how the leg is supposed to be mounted on the lathe. I am pretty
certain that it's an offset turning manoeuver.

My questions are:

1 - what's the purpose of a revolving stebcenter?
2 - Why would you need driving teeth in a tail stock support device?
3 - how do you use a revolving stebcenter in offset turning?

Bonus question:

- can anyone recommend an internet link to text or video about turning