• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

New bandsaw

I am relatively new to turning and am looking to get a 14" bandsaw.
I think I've narrowed it down to the Powermatic and the Delta X5.
Both are about the same price and have 1.5 hp. I have little experience with
either. Any pros/cons and advice is appreciated.

Website
www.ralphandellen.us
Any more, I would tend towards Powermatic (I own neither).

Last year I was pondering the same questions, I decided that there is no alternative to more power, and since I had 220V available, I went with the 2HP band-saw (in my case a Grizzly).

If you have 220 available, consider more power

I went with a 17" grizzly after others in my club had purchased laguns. They said that they paid nearly $1000 more for the same amount of saw. Save for one bad tire, it cuts bowl blanks just fine.

Aaron

For milling wood, size of throat and horsepower are the two biggies. Poor tolerances and a blade that wanders all over the place aren't really an issue when milling green wood. Big pieces and cutting through thick, wet crap is. If you want to make bandsaw boxes or do resawing, get two saws.

I've got an old (un)Reliant with a 2hp motor, 6" riser, and 2 1/2" plywood cutting platform. Works fine as long as I don't mind cutting curvy lines (and I don't). Total cost used, $150. Burnt the motor out twice but easy to rewire.

dk