• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Drying of vases, holoforms and boxes.

I am pretty new at this and probably have a dumb question. I have several bowls under my belt. These bowls have been from both dried and green/wet wood. I have dried the green/wet bowls and twice turned them into their final shape once dried. I understand how the movement of the wood ovals the bowl and the end grain will sit higher from the side grain of the rim.
When turning other shapes such as boxes, vases, etc. How much of an issue is wood drying? Is it just a situation to turn to final shape and finish or should these types of forms be dried similar to bowls. I know this question sounds dumb but it seems to me that some of the shapes of these other forms of woodturning might not need to be turned twice. Do most of these forms of turning start from dried wood and typically are not turned from green wood? Any thoughts on this or input on what y'all do would be greatly appreciated.