• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

New Woodturner......Sanding question!

I'm new to woodturning and have a question about sanding my bowls. I start with a low grit sandpaper but as the lathe is turning I always end up with half the bowl being smooth (areas WITH the grain) and half the bowl being very rough (areas AGAINST the grain). Is this a sign of poor wood quality or do I need to do something differently to have a smooth bowl all around????

Several options here. Although some woods just sand out better than others all wood will do as you describe (worse with softer woods than with harder stuff). As you work your way to finer grits the roughness should go away. If your lathe allows reversing you should reverse with every other grit. A small rotary sander (small dia. foam pad on a drill) will also take out the rough areas if you turn the lathe slow and the sander slow. Let the sandpaper do it's work, don't force it.