• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Laguna Revo 24/36 VS Grizzly GO800

I am trying to decide on either one of these lathes. I'm not sure why the Grizzly costs more? Maybe a bit more cast iron? It appears the Grizzly may be a version of the older Lagunas, but I'm not sure. I'm a disabled Veteran with a very limited income and this is a "last lathe" purchase for me. I've dealt with Laguna since the Robland X31 days when the actual owners answered the phone and talked with you: Now their customer support people in California answer the phone with an instant attitude. Not to mention Kim Tippin on YouTube trying to get her revo lathe running without a wobble. I have an older Laguna 18/47 Platinum lathe that I bought a few months ago; but am quickly finding out is not built very well and the motor bogs down very easily.
So, I'm stuck trying to decide.
Sure I'd rather plop down a bunch more and get a Robust American Beauty. But the likelihood of the Disabled veterans disability doubling is a bit on the "miracle" level!
Anything you guru's know would be helpful.

https://lagunatools.com/classic/lathes/revo-24-36-220v/

https://www.grizzly.com/products/Grizzly-24-x-48-Heavy-Duty-Wood-Lathe/G0800