• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Help from you 6-8 Eyes out there

I've been using reading glasses for 20 years, including my 10 years of turning. A couple years ago, the eye doctor suggested I go with distance correction for the first time. Those glasses I have only used while driving and hunting. I'm an optical Hansel and have glasses of various strengths and purposes trailed throughout my world.

Now I'm at a crossroads. I think the distance correction might be useful for other times and the doc suggested bifocals. I tried bifocal safety glasses and they didn't work worth a darn.

For those of you who turn and also wear bifocals or trifocals, how do you use them? Which lenses do you use while working at the lathe? How long did it take to get used to them?

I actually looked in a mirror the other day and this old guy was looking back. Yikes. When did that happen?

Thanks for your help.

The more you rely on corrective lenses the weaker your eyes become, there are exercises you can do to strengthen your vision. I used bifocal and trifocal lenses for several years and got tired of trying to adjust my head to view at different distances. I slowly stopped wearing my glasses throughout the days and forced myself to focus my eyes to the task at hand. The last time I went to renew my drivers license I was able to pass the eye exam without using corrective lenses.

Dennis J Gooding

Beta Tester
Beta Tester