• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Segment block cutting

I am pretty new to segmented turning. I managed to make a nice 6 segment bowl using my miter saw, but realized it probably wasn't the ideal tool for cutting segments. After looking at a bunch of different sleds and watching some videos I built a wedgie sled or actually I should say I have one mostly completed (I still have to make a run for some hardware).

Any way after looking at the cost of the wedgies I decided to avoid spending on them at least to start with. I figure that I can use a 30 degree drafting triangle and a 45 degree drafting triangle for 12 and 8 segment bowls to start with. Is there any reason that is a bad idea?

I figure after that I can decide if I want to buy any wedgies, attempt to make my own, or just use the triangles and limit myself to those two angles for a while.