• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Eliminating tool marks in bowls

I have been turning bowls for about 10 years now and I still cannot eliminate tool marks on the inside of my bowls where the grain is 90 degrees to the bowl (2 places). My tools are nice and sharp. I have tried everything from shear scraping to sanding the heck out of it and I still have tool marks and the surface is rough. Sometimes I get lucky and the inside surface comes out smooth but 75 percent of the time I have tool marks. Also, is there a filler I can apply on the tool marks to make it feel smoother? Would applying sanding sealer before I add my finish help? I would be open to any advice or suggestions. Thanks.

Chuck Marsh

Dennis J Gooding

Beta Tester
Beta Tester