• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Help me mate up my segments for a good ring

I have been working on segmented pieces for a little over 6 months now, and I have purchased two pretty darn nice jigs to produce segments with but I am still having trouble getting a ring that I can glue together as cut--i typically end up gluing up two half rings and having to run them against the disc sander to make a ring without gaps in it. The first jig I got was the Accu-Slice and Accu Wedge for my bandsaw: http://www.accu-slice.com/ --John Manura-the maker has been fantastic at trying to help me--he actually cut several segmented rings on his Laguna Bandsaw, and he has a Rikion at his office shop, and since I have a Rikon 326 he actually took my system and mounted it on his Rikon and cut a ring that fit fine--he is not a fan of the Rikon, and talked me through a lot of adjustments I should make on my Rikon-which I did, and despite all of this when I cut the segments for a ring on my Accu-Wedge, it will not piece together without unacceptable gaps.