• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

18 year old woodturner, a bowl lathe recommendation

Hello everyone,

I’m a new member. I have been woodturning for several years now, but I’m starting to realize I want a bigger and better lathe. I currently turn on a Harbor Freight 10x18 wood lathe, which was the most I could afford several years ago when I was 14 years old.

Now, I’m 18 years old and have a little bigger budget. I mainly turn bowls, sometimes from blanks, and sometimes segmented bowls. I also do segmented vases. However, I rarely turn anything over 15 inches long. My main consideration is swing over. I would really like at least 12 inch swing, but something bigger, like 18 inches, would be preferable.

I could fairly easily afford a lathe up to $800 or so. In that price range, I really like the Laguna 1216 because of its outboard capability. I doubt I would turn bowls outboard, but I’m making a segmented torus, google it if you don’t know what I’m talking about (about 20 inches in diameter), that would benefit from outboard turning just to sand it smooth once finished.

Alternatively, I could save up a little more money and spend up to $2,000 on a lathe. For that price, I really like the Laguna 1836. I wouldn’t be totally against buying a Grizzly lathe, but I’ve read mixed reviews about them.