• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Dust Concerns

Hello! I'm brand new to turning; thank you for accepting me in to the forum! I know this topic is discussed in many places but I'd very much appreciate some direct feedback. I'll try not to be too long-winded here.

I recently became interested in turning so I took a class at the local WoodCraft and I loved it! I started researching and watching videos and decided to go for it, so I'm planning to set up a lathe work area in my garage soon.

However, I bought the AAW Woodturning book for beginners and as I read through the section about dust, I started to feel very worried. The book brings up concerns like asthma, cancer, skin issues, fire, and even explosion. And it basically just says make sure to collect the dust and be careful. I have two toddlers and I really started feeling worried that this hobby would effect them if dust comes in the house on my skin or clothes, ends up in their bath water from my showering, or sneaks in the house through the air. The worry is at the point that I've been thinking at times I should scrap this idea and return my equipment while it's still in the box.