• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

shipping wood

What is the least expensive way to ship wood????? I have the "opportunity" to fly to Marquette , Mi for 2 1/2 days maybe on a monthly basis.. The veterinary owner of practice found out I was a woodworker, and he has a source of cherry burls for me (told him I was in love with him already!!!!). I think I can bring back 50# on the airplane for $25 as all I will have is a carryon. "flat" rate from ? (usp,usps? fed ex)
was mentioned a while ago, Gretch

i think on burls that to keep the eyes not broken off, just pad all the burls and pack in checked bagged like you said..........I have had regular blanks banged up from ups, etc.........the blanks it was not a problem for the dents, but burls........you can have 2 carry ons but the size is limited

What is the least expensive way to ship wood????? I have the "opportunity" to fly to Marquette , Mi for 2 1/2 days maybe on a monthly basis.. The veterinar owner of practice found out I was a woodworker, and he has a source of cherry burls for me (told him I was in love with him already!!!!). I think I can bring back 50# on the airplane for $25 as all I will have is a carryon. "flat" rate from ? (usp,usps? fed ex)
was mentioned a while ago, Gretch