• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Need finishing advice

I've been turning bowls for about four years, all in Arizona in the winter (Canadian snowbird). Due to health issues we sold everything we had in AZ and spend winters at home in Ontario now. I really miss the big wood shop in AZ which had a lots of turners and lots of mentors. I built a shop in my house and I now belong to an AAW chapter called Thames Valley Woodturners Guild in London. All that is pretty exciting. The guild has a mentor program which I have used and made a great connection with a guy who has been doing this for 40 years and knows all the tools and techniques.