• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Finish over water based acrylic paint

hey guys,

Someone gave me a piece of wood, I believe it was pine but I’m not good at identifying wood. I did not like the grain/look of the plain wood and figured why not try acrylic paint to texture and color it. I went for leather type look.

Should I use clear satin Laquer, clear acrylic spray, or other type of finish over water based acrylic? I need to protect the finish from pealing off with light use. I cannot sand because of the texturing.

D8A16446-C300-4288-A73B-FF594D49B183.jpeg DA16D131-17D3-4B57-91CC-DFFA8B100ED1.jpeg

the painting books call for just varnish and that's what hobby lobby carries....make sure your paint is dry....3 days at least.....I like minwax polycrylic....still let your paint dry.....gives a subtle wet look....u want to use some gesso over the wood before the acrylic paint and wood needs to be dry before gesso

now if u wanted to do abstract color on bowl....I would use dye instead of acrylic and no gesso

Last edited:

Bill Boehme

Administrator
Staff member
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
pbase.com